Clitoria Ternatea – Bunga Telang

6th May 2017. This morning, as I was harvesting the flowers from my Clitoria Ternatea, or locally known as Bunga Telang plant, I thought I would post some photos of the plant and flowers.

I grow mine in a pot but have stakes for the vines to climb. As the plants matured and started bushing up, the pot became top heavy and was falling over everytime there was any slight wind. I also had to add supports as well as anchoring the pot in a cement holder. I started with 2 or 3 plantlets in February 2017 and 3 months later it is looking like this.

I harvest the flowers almost every morning and dry them before keeping them in the refrigerator. I have only used a tiny fraction of the flowers I harvested. Maybe its time for daily blue tea! 🙂

Anyways, this is today’s harvest: 53 blue flowers, my largest harvest todate. It was also time for me to harvest the seed pods: some weeks ago, I allowed some flowers to continue to fruit in order to have some seeds for some friends.

I normally sun these flowers in my drying area shown which is right beside the plant itself. After drying in the sun for a few hours or upto 2 days, I will move them indoors.

A few more photos…

 

O   O

Leave a Reply

