Wheatgrass. Day 0: Seed Soaking and Tray Prep.

23rd April 2017. About a decade ago, I was growing and juicing wheatgrass for family members. Recently I wanted to start doing that again but had not been able to buy wheatgrass seeds. I did have the decade-old leftover seeds from back then. I had tried germinating them but as expected, nada.

All the shops that used to carry these seeds a decade ago seems not to be carrying them today. Hmm, is wheatgrass no longer the in-thing? :). Finally found some online, ordered them on 18th April…. but still no sign of them. Hmmm…

Then finally found it at Medifoods Subang Jaya when I was there for their buffet breakfast! Finally I got my seeds.

The Gatorade bottle is my decade-old seeds and the plastic bag contains the newly purchased wheatgrass seeds from Medifoods.

Soaking the seeds to start the germination process… . Gonna leave it to soak overnight.

In the meantime prepared my plant trays. My decade-old plant trays had long since been disposed off… . Time to make use of the 1l milk cartons that I had been keeping! 🙂 I just cut one of the larger surfaces off and punch holes in the other larger surface to act as the drainage holes.

I suspect I may have mold issues, due to the carton being made of paper and it may not be re-usable that many times. Nonetheless I think I should try it at least once or three times before looking for other materials which I do not have at hand at this moment in time.

IMG_20170423_130409.jpg

Finally, I get to use the compost from the first batch of compost from EcoKnights and Shell’s “Garbage to Garden Composting Project” Compost Bin! 🙂

I didn’t want to use 100% compost, so I added in maybe 3 parts potting soil to 7 parts compost. I also added a little garden lime to reduce the acidity of the planting media to try to slow down mold.

IMG_20170423_130327.jpg

Anyways, the plant tray is ready for the germinated seeds. All it needs is a little soaking before the germinated seeds goes onto it.

O   O

Leave a Reply

